"Having an MRI Scan"

About: Royal Stoke University Hospital

Telephone call informing me of my appointment. I arrived at the Department five minutes early to find three other people waiting and no receptionist. When the receptionist turned up, they had to log on the computer before booking us in. the Receptionist also called me by a pet name which I found patronizing. The staff carrying out the scan were two young women and, when I went into get on the bed, they struggled to push in the earplugs which I found unacceptable but was not given an option, headphones which were tangled at the end of the bed and involved me in having to raise my legs before having them plonked on my head. during the scan, I was asked several times if was alright because i was moving too much. However, I was unaware that i was moving so found this confusing. At the end of the scan, I was not informed that it was over and found myself totally confused when shunted out of the scanner and off the bed. My previous MRI scans in 1999 were professionally carried out by skilled staff. It is a pity I can't say the same this time.. Having to put Don't Know for the Department as it is not listed in the drop down list.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Senior Communications Officer, Communications, University Hospitals of North Midlands

Dear "patient"

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your experience of University Hospital of North Midlands.

Please can you contact our PALS Team (Patient Advice and Liaison Service) so that they can investigate the issues that you have raised further. The PALS Team can be contacted on 01782 676450 or 01782 676455 or by emailing patient.advice@uhns.nhs.uk.

Thank you and best wishes, UHNM Communications Team.