"Totally unacceptable waiting times"

About: Pinderfields General Hospital

I had an appointment today in the audiology outpatient dept at 11.40 a.m. I duly self booked in and at 11.45 my name had still not appeared. Upon enquiry I was sent directly to the appropriate dept. I was then told I hadn't been called at they were running behind. I took a seat and waited until 12.30 when I was called in. How on earth can a department be running nearly 1 1/2 hours late at 11 in the morning? Upon stating that the car parking was now going to cost me a substantial amount I was informed by the nurse that I could reclaim this back in the general office. Upon speaking to someone in the general office, I was told I could not reclaim my parking. My parking cost me £4.10. I am a pensioner and cannot afford to pay this. I was at the hospital well before my appointment time. It is not my fault that I was kept waiting so long. Your staff should also be reliably informed of the rules and regulations regarding reimbursement of car parking. This is completely unacceptable behaviour.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Pinderfields General Hospital

We are sorry that you encounterd a delay in clinic and appreciate that this causes frustration. We try to keep to appointment times wherever possible, although a number of factors can cause delays, such as the complexity of treatment required and the varying clinical needs of individual patients. From the times you quote, you were seen 50 minutes after your appointment time, for which we apologise. As clinic delays cannot be predicted, we are unable to refund parking costs. We appreciate that the fees can be a burden on some patients and for that reason we provide a free shuttle bus service.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read