"fracture clinic"

About: Leighton Hospital

I was at the fracture clinic yesterday.wed 29th October.i had broken the end of my little finger,it had been strapped up at northwich the day before.no sooner had I walked throught the door to see the doctor that he had taken off my plater strapping and bent my broken finger back with no warning.the pain was so intense I scream out in agony.i got to straighten your finger he said.yes I understand that but I cannot deal with that pain.at this point an internal door to the room next door opened with a nurse stood there.the doctor and nurse dealing with me then proceeded to straighten my finger again in pain I cannot explain they tried to put a cast on my finer.they had the wrong size!i looked at the nurse in the doorway who was laughing at me.yes laughing at me.very professional! After another attempt with no offer of pain relief I was put through the ordeal of the intense pain again.they got the cast on half way and said that will do!!you will have to push it down further yourself when you get home.again I looked up to see the 2 nurses looking at each other laughing about my pain.i was sweating and feeling weak because of the pain.they then sent me to x ray where I went feeling terrible.i was in the x ray room where there was blood on the floor.disguting. If only I had been given an injection for the pain and not treated like I was on a conveyor belt running thought the clinic.no time to explain anything to me just felt they couldn't be bothered dealing with me and I was an inconvenience to them.going to get a referral to another hospital after this ordeal as i'v had cancer in the past and been in quite a few hospitals over the last 8 years and never have I seen heard or experienced anything so barbaric.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leighton Hospital

Thank you for your recent comment on NHS Choices. I was very concerned to hear about your experience in the fracture clinic. The nurses in the clinic are experienced in all types of splint application and in recognising when a patient is in pain and requires pain relief. I am very sorry that you did not receive the level of care that I would have expected you to receive on this occasion. I am more than happy to investigate this further for you and provide you with a more detailed response. Please will you contact our Customer Care Team so that I can understand what went wrong during your recent visit and ensure this does not happen again. The Customer Care Team are available on 01270 612410. Sue Sarson, Acting Matron, Surgery and Cancer Division

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful