"my experience of the A&E department and reception..."

About: North Tyneside General Hospital

I was sent via the GP from the 111 service which I contacted for advice, I was told I would need a simple procedure which the GP could not do as he did not have the equipment needed. He sent me next door to the A&E department at 9pm. I was seen by a male nurse at 9.20pm and was told I would be seen within the hour as the department was quiet. I did not mind waiting anyway as I needed something doing to my hand as I was in pain also I was flying to america in 8 days time. At 11.25pm I ask the reception lady how long would it be as I needed to put my 3rd ticket on my car. I was informed that there was a few majors coming in, thats fine because of the department it is. At 12.40am I asked the reception lady again if she knew how much longer she think it would be, again for my car, she abruptly said I had only been waiting since 9.20om and I had another 30mins for the 4 hours, I felt embarrassed, as it could be heard by all. I was eventually seen at 1.25am by a dr who needed to ask a colleague advice about my hand, I heard all what was said again embarrassed I heard the say, why had I been sent in the first place, the dr I saw was saying I had been waiting over 4 hours. I could hear them saying her gp could do it. I was offered a dressing to protect my hand. I did ask why had I not been informed at 9.20pm at my pre assessment then it would have saved me waiting ovef 4 hours, been embarrassed, and 5 car parking tickets. I am going on holiday in 8 days time, this is the only reason I used the 111 service in the first place, this service was brilliant. I have worked for the NHS for 34 years as a mental health nurse and it is sad that I feel so let down by my first experience of this A&E department. I was told my gp could do procedure, also there was no-one there who could do procedure, I was offered a dressing on my hand to protect the wound. This is my first time at this hospital and I hope I would never need to go again. It was a total waste of time. I felt totally brushed off.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Tyneside General Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam, I am so sorry that you have not had a good experience of care in A&E at North Tyneside Hospital. Thank you for taking the time to share your story. It is not acceptable for any patient to be made to feel embarrassed and brushed off by a member of staff. I know the team will be both disappointed and saddened to know that a patient has left their department feeling this way. We always welcome positive and negative feedback from our patients, as both are very important to staff in supporting their efforts to improve. It feels like we have a number of lessons to learn in this case, however it would be helpful if we had a few more details to go on so that we can understand more about what exactly happened that evening. Would you kindly get in contact with me directly at annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk ? l have in the meantime shared your experience with senior leaders and Lauraine Gibson the matron for the department. , Best wishes and thanks again, Annie

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful