"Poor communication and disjointed service"

About: Croydon University Hospital

Having visited the Urgent Care A&E at Croydon University hospital, I have some real concerns relating to the quality of patient care. I visited as I had fallen and was in a lot if pain and was worried I had broken my arm. I was initially seen by a nurse who was rather cold and sullen. After looking at my arm, she walked me to a doctor who glanced at me and sent me to get an X ray. I then waited in reception for around an hour to be called in by a different doctor, who did not know I had been seen and did not know I had already had an X ray - and seemed very surprised when I told him. To my knowledge, he did not look at the X ray results. He then felt the bone in my arm and told me it was broken but not too badly. He gave me a sling, told me to ice the joint and take paracetamol and try to move my arm when the pain lessens. As I was in a lot of pain, I wasn't in the right frame of mind to ask more questions and I was sent out. I have no idea which bone is broken, what sort of break it is, how long I can expect it to take to recover, how I am supposed to manage quite extreme pain or how I can work when I can't use my arm or why a cast wasn't considered. I am still in pain and I have no information other than that my arm is broken and the doctor hadn't looked at my X rays ( nor was even aware I had these done). All round, this has been a confusing and poor experience and I am now unsure as to how to resolve this.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Croydon University Hospital

I am so sorry to learn of your frustrating experience at the Accident and Emergency Department. From the information you have provided I am unable to determine when you were seen and whether this was in the Croydon Urgent Care Centre, which is run by VirginCare, or in our Emergency Department. If you contact our PALS Office, on 020 8401 3210 or at pals@croydonhealth.nhs.uk, and let us know your details, we will be happy to investigate for you. There are some fractures where a cast is not appropriate, which may be the case here, but we will certainly help you get the answers to your questions. Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager PALS and Complaints

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful