"Disjointed care"

About: Newcastle-under-Lyme / Newcastle-Under-Lyme Social Services Royal Stoke University Hospital / General medicine Shropshire and Staffordshire Staffordshire and Stoke on Trent Partnership NHS Trust

(as other),

Nurses, doctors and social workers don't seem to work together. Social care seems unable to give health care an accurate history.

What was good?

The patient went home with living aids they came in with (splint, drugs, phone, keys etc) - this is an improvement.

What was bad?

The drugs the patient took home were wrong.

The patient's care support workers did not follow the medical advice given by UHNS - in my view this put the patient's life in danger.

Health professionals did not follow the patient's GP request for an urgent review, this seemingly placed the patient at high risk.

Neither UHNS, primary care, SSTOP, nor social services acted swiftly when these issues were brought to their attention. It feels like it was covered up.

What could be improved?

Openness, transparency, admitting mistakes (everyone makes mistakes) but health and social services should try and put them right, not cover them up. Communicate with the 'whole team' currently supporting the patient so that the weaknesses in the systems in place can be identified and adjusted.

If the 'whole team' composition is found to be wrong by these investigations, correct that too. If this is not corrected the health and social care setting will fail - the impact will be on acute and emergency services. The one thing the patient does not want. The one thing the government does not want. The one thing the taxpayer does not want.

The complaints process - it is past tense, which means lessons are never learned.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Staffordshire and Stoke on Trent Partnership NHS Trust We are preparing to make a change

Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent Partnership NHS Trust would like to thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. Our Chief Executive Officer and the Partnership Trust Board are committed to providing high quality services and welcome any feedback on how these may be improved.

We are sorry to hear your experience of services that you have accessed across the health economy. As a Trust we are committed to improve our services based on the comments that we receive from our patients.

We would like the opportunity to discuss the issues that you have raised in more detail so that as a Trust we can learn from your experience. I would appreciate it if you would be willing to contact Marie Allen Head of User and Carer Experience on 0300 123 1161 Ext 1584.

Thank you

Recently read