"Out Patients Gynaecology."

About: Salisbury District Hospital

Have had ongoing Gynae problems for years now and for the past 9 mths have been back at SDH as an outpatient again. My Gynaecologist was apparently on long term sick so i only got to see a stand in Registrar. At one appointment my Husband and i were given alternative treatments, Mirena coil or Hysterectomy but if it was Cancer it would be Cancer Surgeon, my Husband looked at me with the horror of Cancer mentioned. Never before had that been mentioned, she then said i would need the blood test that day. She was so matter of fact we were so shocked i was told it was just a anormal cyst and they were just watching it! we were very upset and the days waiting for results were awful. Thankfully it came back clear, relief i can tell you!I then had to see her bout next treatment i asked for a Hysterectomy as periods still horrible and painful and she agreed, we discussed my very bad pelvic adhesions and she said she would get me booked in within 8 weeks. Was quite shocked that i was in on Day Surgery and rang them to see if that was normal they said yes and told them i was a complicated case they said it was ok. First appointment was cancelled then re-booked for 28th July. Was very nervous but staff lovely on Day Surgery met the Anaethetist all ok and got undressed for Op. The Surgeon came to see me and broke the news that i would not be having the Op as after looking back through my history wasn't sure the op was right for me and pelvic adhesions were so bad it would take hours and two surgeons to do the op! Was so upset it was such a big build up with nerves nearly cried. She went and spoke to her senior colleagues who were all in ameeting and decided the op could not be done. She then offered me a uterine ablation instead which i had. After a further appointment with the cinsultant she said it was obvious the first consultant had not looked at my notes as previous notes in red pen pages of them said adhesions were very bad it was obvious it would be a abig op not for day surgery. Wish i could of been under a proper Gynaecologist in the first place alot of wasted time has been had and still no further forward. The Registrar i believe made lots of wrong decisions and wasted NHS and Taxpayers money . She has gone now but just hope employing these 'Doctors' in the future will not be taken lightly and alot more care into choosing staff.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Salisbury District Hospital

We are sorry to hear about the issues you have raised here and the inconvenience and anxiety this has caused you. We would be grateful if you could please contact our Customer Care Department at customercare@salisbury.nhs.uk or ring us on 0800 374 208 so that we can look carefully at the care you have received here in Salisbury.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful