"Out of Hours"

About: Lanarkshire Community Services

(as the patient),

Visited the out of hours service after getting forwarded by NHS 24. I had a lump on the ankle that had began to bruise and increase in pain significantly in the past 24 hours. I was seen by a doctor for an appointment that lasted less than a minute. I was offered Co-codamol for pain but when I insisted it didn't agree with me I was shrugged at and pretty much told to put up with it.

I have never felt so insulted with care and was made to feel as if I had wasted time. Complete waste of time. It is no wonder that most of the time I put up with symptoms. The only reason I escalated this was due to the unexplained bruising and increase of pain on a lump that had been there for over a week.

I would have been better off not calling as I was made to feel like a time waster. Doctor was aware paracetamol and ibuprofen were not touching the pain. As a Staff Nurse I would be reprimanded for knowingly sending a patient away with pain. I honestly feel so belittled by the entire experience.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Laura Jack, Patient Affairs Manager, Primary Care Division, NHS Lanarkshire

picture of Laura Jack

Dear not taken seriously,

I was sorry to read about your recent experience at an Out of Hours consultation. What you have described does not meet the high standard of care or communication we would expect. I’m really sorry that you have felt let down by this and that you felt it has a waste of your time.

We would be keen to look into this further, however to do this I would need a bit more information from you. I wondered if you could contact me on 01698 858 292 in order that I can progress.

Alternatively you can email me at laura.bryan@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story