"Absolutely shocking!"

About: Bishop Auckland Hospital

I visited Urgent care on the 16th October and couldn't believe what I witnessed. I have recently moved to the Durham area and hadn't yet moved doctors and was told by a few members of staff (I work for the trust) and other people around the area that it was a walk in centre. I wasn't sure so rang up beforehand to check to see if it was okay if I could come in as my problem wasn't extremely urgent. She said 'no problem, just come along' I explained that I have been getting headaches for quite a long time and once a month I think I could be having a migrane as the symptoms are quite similar and the doctor rudely snapped back 'Have you been diagnosed by a doctor?' Well if you haven't, don't diagnose yourself when you don't know' I was literally in shock, his attitude was awful! He would never let me finish what I was saying before rudely interrupting as well. Then after he said I would have to see my own GP I apologised and explained that a few people had mentioned that it was a walk in centre. He then rudely snapped back 'Yes, it is a walk in centre and people walk in!' Unbelieveable This is just out or order and the whole experience was awful and I pretty much burst into tears after leaving. Worst customer service I've had anywhere and this is a hospital! Would never ever ever go here again

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Bishop Auckland Hospital

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit to the Urgent care centre at Bishop Auckland Hospital. I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience on this occasion. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you. If you feel this would be useful please contact the Trust’s Patient Experience Team on 0800 7835774. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is patient.experience@cddft.nhs.uk If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Patient Experience Team County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful