"Ward 209 - disappointing aftercare"

About: Royal Derby Hospital

I was admitted onto ward 209 following surgery. The aftercare i received post op was very disappointing - the staff on the ward at the time were not very helpful at all. I was constantly asking for my belongings so i could contact relatives to let them know i was out of surgery, which were finally bought to me at midnight. I was on a morphine PCA which was making me vomit regularly and when pressing my nurse call buzzer for anti-sickness medication none was bought for several hours later, as i had just come around from an open laparotomy hours before this was extremely painful. Night staff were hardly ever seen, and a lady in the opposite bed had to come to my help as this was happening. Communication from staff was terrible. The little information i received about my care was from overheard conversations from the nurses station (which were very loud at night). I also found out on the day i was discharged - 5 days after surgery that i had lost a lot of blood which was something i was never told. On my third day on the ward i had been ill all day and unable to get out of bed or do very much. At 9.30pm i was woken up by a nurse and told i would have to move wards because they needed more beds, a HCA then came and cleared my locker and put all of my belongings onto my bed. I felt unwell at the time and was never told where i was moving to or when, i never saw another member of staff again until 11.45pm when a porter came to move me to another ward - where i was sent without any of my medical notes. The ward i was then taken to (EPU) was under the impression i would be going home in the morning which was note the case. Overall my time in hospital was very unpleasant - communication between both members of staff and to patients was terrible and the aftercare i received was disappointing. One positive would be the gynae theatre staff - they were amazing, caring and put me at ease.. just a shame the aftercare didn't follow

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Derby Hospital

Many thanks for providing us with the important feedback following your recent stay with us. We were very disappointed to hear of your experience and will certainly ensure this information is shared with the staff on Ward 209. This poor standard of care, as you describe, is certainly not what we or indeed, yourself should expect to receive and therefore we would very much like to look into this matter further. However, to do so we would need more specific details, so if this is something you would like us to do, may I ask that you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on Freephone 0800 7837691 or via email on dhft.contactpals@nhs.net who will be able to assist you further. In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies for any upset caused to you on this occasion and once again, many thanks for taking the time to provide us with this important information. Kind regards, from the Patient Experience Team for Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful