"People pay for this?"

About: BMI - Thornbury Hospital (Sheffield)

Went here for an NHS Choices appt as had bad experiences of another private provider (through NHS choices again) so thought would try Thornbury instead. Consultant was great but then had to wait for MRI scan appointment - was told the scan would happen within a fortnight. When no appt came through after a week, rang and was told machine was broken but I'd hear in a couple of days once it had been fixed. When I didn't hear, rang a week later and was told that the machine was broken and I'd hear when it had been fixed but that would still be ages away - no timescale. At least some estimate would be nice, or to be given the option to take my "business" elsewhere in the meantime. I can't believe people pay to come to places like this. Outsourcing and private healthcare aren't the answer - I just wish this government realised that and resourced the NHS properly instead of lining the pockets of businesses who don't actually provide decent care.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from BMI - Thornbury Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to read that you were unhappy with the service you received whilst in our care. We constantly strive to be the best we can be and would very much like to speak to you about your experience with us so we can investigate further. As you have posted anonymously, we would like to ask that you call me at the hospital so we can investigate further. Marge Falconer Executive Director

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful