About: Lister Hospital

96 year old mother in law admitted after a fall (having had numerous ones in the past and admissions that followed) and has many ailments including Dementia. Having real problems with her legs which keep giving w ay on her and told during this stay due to muscle wastage. Help needed from getting out o f bed to going to washroom cannot do anything unaided. in terrible pain one night (48 hours ago) requiring on duty doctor assistance. Following morning meeting with her, doctor, nursing staff, hospital social worker. Family informed after that social worker decided she is fit enough to come home with carers coming in twice a day this is despite being told about the condition of legs, her general condition and likelihood of further falls all to no avail. Further call to say she can stay one more night but then has to go home. The social worker even said my mother in law had said she wanted to go home when in fact when her soon visited her that evening she was hysterical saying she cant go home the way she was and was frightened of being sent home and falling again and the social worker also said my mother in laws daughter said it would be alright for her to come home when in fact she lives in Wales and categorically said on the phone no way could she be sent home or cope as the situation was. Her son has gone up there today to meet with all involved and told she can now stay in a further weeks to see how she gets on! Social team for elderly care should be totally ashamed of themselves for their sheer disregard and victimisation of an elderly person in such a predicament and the way they have handled this matter. Just waiting to see what happens when they decide she can go home again and whether she will be fit enough to. Will end by saying such is the disgust with their actions we are in the process of complaining to the chief executive. Should we get no joy their this will be going forward to our local MP and the Parliamentary and Health Services Ombudsman media and court of human rights. Social Services wonder why they get a bad reputation when they act as they have it is no wonder. Please be advised you have rights as I have found out hence our pursing this so please use them!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

We're sorry that you've been having these problems with the local social worker teams, although it seems that you've not raised any concerns about the medical care that your mother-in-law has received whilst at the Lister. We note that you have complained to our chief executive, which no doubt will be attended to as he sees and reviews all formal complaints we receive - although we don't manage social services. If there is anything else you feel we can do to help, please email us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful