"children ward"

About: Darlington Memorial Hospital

my son was admitted to the unit from his gp, initially we thought everyone was quite friendly and respectful, but after two days we started to hear rumours from various parents who were in relationship, who had suffered from discrimination on several occasions, also other parents who felt certain staff had been quite nasty and offish when speaking to the children, i had an example of this as when my son was having bloods, the doctor was very impatient with my son, he was admitted very hysterical and quite vocal with his screaming, we are not sure whether my son has adhd and autism, but his manner suggestes the way he was in certain situations that this is the case, the doctor gave the impression he was sick and that my son was over reacting, he is only just turned 4, and although he used to be ok in hosp situations, he isnt now and is terrified of needles, as a result, also another problem is the parents seem to take a back seat in the whole equation, we werent offerred a cup of tea at all for two days, or snack, wed had nothing to eat for the day prior to admission as son was poorly and at his gp 3 times in that day, so we were starving and there was nowhere open to eat, at all, we werent shown around the ward to a kitchen or anything, we only found out there was a kitchen after 4 days into stay, from another parent, nurses dont seem to communuicate with parents much at all or consult them, theres no comfy room with settees or comy chairs and tv to watch to give parents a break even for half hour, so when you child goes to sleep your basically stuck there in a dark room, there should be a place for parents to chill out and sit comfy for a break, its very long days and nights in their, also parents dont get a bed who need to stay, your very lucky if you get a recliner chair and even those arnt really comy, so if your child takes up much of bed you cant rest, and why should they have to sleep with the child in same bed anyway, folded up beds should be provided, this is done in other hospitals and comy rooms are available and there are places to eat at what ever times day or night, i really think these issues need addressing, it wouldnt cost that much to convert one side room into a room for parents like home from home, you either have to sit in low chairs in play room or a upright chair in wards. also they put kids who are clearly unsettled or may have viruses in with other kids this really shouldnt be happening, if a child is suspected of viral infection they should be in a room on their own, there were plenty of empty rooms, also a child who had bad asthma was put in and the poor thing was coughing all night and although its not his fault he kept everyone awake all niight, he could have had his own room food was ok, but when my son ordered a salad, his order was missed off, and when it came it was as if what a child ordered salad that cant be right, he loves salad, so we had to wait for staff to collect it from kitchen,

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darlington Memorial Hospital

Thank you for providing feedback on your son's recent visit to the children's ward at Darlington Memorial Hospital. I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience on this occasion. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you. If you feel this would be useful please contact the Trust’s Patient Experience Team on 0800 7835774. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is patient.experience@cddft.nhs.uk If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Patient Experience Team County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful