About: North Tyneside General Hospital

my mum Dorothy was admitted to your hospital on 07/10/14 with chest pain she was assessed in A&E and as the second lot of blood tests needed to be carried out 6hours after the first they decided to get mum a bed in the emergency care ward. she was transferred about 3.30 so I popped home and got her some nightwear got her settled on the ward and then came home to return for evening visiting at 6pm I got a text from my sister who lives 40mile away to tell me mum was coming home after her second blood tests so back to hospital I went. when I arrived mum was still having problems getting her breath and the staff were having problems getting a blood pressure reading as time went on the staff changed and the night staff came on at 9pm I went and asked what was happening with mum to be told she was going home they were just writing a letter all the time they were trying to get her blood pressure. Another Doctor handed her a letter and said your blood pressure is very high so go to your G.P. and get some medication sorted I questioned why they were discharging her with such high blood pressure and was told that it wasn't dangerous for her blood pressure to be high and it wasn't causing her any problems she would be fine. I would also like to point out that it was 9.30pm it was raining and they discharged a 77year old lady who has bad health with a aortic aneurism a blood clot in her leg, angina and many more problems including memory problems I think this treatment of a lady who worked in the caring profession herself until she retied is terrible. I will be finding out how I make an official complaint.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Tyneside General Hospital

Dear Teri, Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. I am so sorry that you have felt let down with the service provided to your Mum Dorothy and I can fully appreciate why you wanted so much more for her that night. Your description of our care is naturally very disappointing to read - we don't want any of our patients or their relatives leaving our hospitals feeling this way. I do feel I need to understand more about what exactly happened last week before I can come back to you with an appropriate and meaningful response. My email is annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk - if you would like to forward all your concerns I will, as you wish, make sure this is investigated as part of our formal complaints process. In the meantime I will be forwarding this to the senior mangers and clinical leaders of the emergency care department. I know will be just as keen as I am to understand more about what happened and where specifically we need to learn and improve. Thanks again for taking the time to work with us to improve the care and services we offer, Annie

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read