"Disgraceful service"

About: Darlington Memorial Hospital

My mam was bought into the hospital through her gp into ward 31 she was made nil by mouth as she was having a scan, she had her scan at 11.30 on the morning I came to visit her at 3 in the afternoon by 5 they still hadn't had her scan results back and didn't tell her if she could eat or not due to it being supper time I asked a nurse if she could have some thing, and they had forgotten about my mam going for her scan so the nurse had to ask a doctor. My mam is diabetic and it seemed like she wouldn't of had anything unless I asked the nurse. The health care assistants were talking about each other in front of the patients and as a health care assistant myself I was not happy to over hear them talking about making fun of patients while sat next to my mam. At 5 on clock my mam was ment to have a bladder scan me and my father left at 7.30 still no scan had been done and I also asked the nurse if they could get someone to change my mams cardex as her medication was wrote up wrong which was staff nurse and they said they can't, it's not their job instead of saying that they will find a doctor to do that for us. By 9.30 I rang the ward and the sister seemed to know nothing about her medication or bladder scan, I went home crying as I did not want to leave my mam in the ward (I used to work on the bank and have never felt like that before in my life). When I came back the next day my mam was aloud home and when I came in I asked the nurse if my mam could have her drip removed, my response was of the nurse was "who's your mam?" I explained who she was and the nurse said "why does she want it removing?" I explained she was going home and the nurse said they were dealing with a poorly patient and couldn't, I understand as a health care assistant poorly patients come first but not every time you ask a question and get the same answer that they can't do it. As I went to leave the ward I saw them all in the kitchen having a cup of tea. I think the care my mam recieved was the worst care imaginable and that there is no way that me as a health care could work on that ward.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darlington Memorial Hospital

Thank you for providing feedback on your mother’s recent visit to ward 31 at Darlington Memorial Hospital. I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the care and treatment your mother received on this occasion. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you. If you feel this would be useful please contact the Trust’s Patient Experience Team on 0800 7835774. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is patient.experience@cddft.nhs.uk If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Patient Experience Team County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read