"Antenatal care: amazing. Postnatal care: shocking"

About: Homerton University Hospital

Firstly I would like to thank the team of midwives and consultants who work in the antenatal appointment, although waiting times were often long, the care was outstanding. Secondly, I would like to thank the team of midwives and doctors who safely delivered my son with care and consideration in the delivery suite. Lastly, the postnatal care at homerton hospital needs a serious review. From wrong information being put on my discharge notes to visitors being told I had been discharged the whole experience was abysmal. The first midwife spoke to me once just to say I couldn't have a shower due to extensive blood loss... That's it... No name... No hello... The second midwife introduced herself but was very unhelpful when I explained my son wasn't latching onto the breast and that I had no formula, no formula was offered just a test of his sugar levels, and a 'it's ok'. The third midwife in charge didn't introduce herself either, although later on was introduced to me by another person.The doctor was a little more efficient, however he explained that the physiotherapy team would see me, they didn't, yet my notes suggested they had seen me before being discharged... I am still in physical pain. The doctor and nurse in charge of checking baby over were told by another doctor (I am guessing she was a senior member of staff) to 'be quicker', sorry but checking a newborns babies health (my newborn) isn't a 'quick' thing. A midwife took myself and two other mothers to another part of the hospital to take bloods to test for jaundice... The machine didn't work, she found out after taking the blood from my sons foot... No plaster... Blood all over his hand knitted blanket. I asked the same midwife to help me lift my feet onto my bed (remember I was in serious pain, still am) she complained about her back and said I should do it, then told me I need socks for my swollen feet... I asked if the hospital had any, she didn't offer but then places them on my feet... With force (very painful). I could continue... The head of midwives wanted me to stay another night... No way! I begged to be discharged, never again!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Homerton University Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience of our maternity services. We are pleased to hear that you had such good antenatal care and during birth. We are very sorry to hear about your poor experience of our post natal care. Your comments have been fedback to the maternity team. We hope you and your baby are doing well. We would like to understand more about what happened on this occasion so that we can give you a full explanation and aim to resolve the issues you have raised concerning your care and treatment. I hope you will contact PALS 020 8510 7315 or PALS.Service@homerton.nhs.uk so that we can investigate further and give you an opportunity to discuss your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful