"On the morning of my op I was ..."

About: Queen's Medical Centre

(as the patient),

What I liked

On the morning of my op I was very nervous and lathough the initial assesment nurse was very nice I felt I was at a cattle market when the the 2nd nurse collected me and an elderly man and we had to walk to theatre carrying our pillow feeling very exposed and anxious whixh the hospital were fully aware of and the nurse walked way ahead of with no comunication.

The theathre staff were we very good as they realised how anxious I was but in the anaeasthetic room it was very uncomfortable being exposed in a small room with 4 men and no female. I dont not recall much about the post op in recovery other than a very nice nurse and anaesthetist who kept a close eye on me I believe from 10.30 until when I returned to the ward at 5. That it is where the care became worse. There was not a lot of compassion and the nicest staff were the student nurse and I understand they were under pressure but after 8 days I had had enough of being made feel like a leper and asked to leave. The staff were very rarely the same people and a lot of bank staff. I felt that due to my my mental health issues I was avoided and heard comments being made regulalry but as I said there were some very lovely staff too.

What could be improved

A female member of staff she had have been with me in the anaesthetic room and the staff on the ward need to have more time for their patients and stop judging them.

The non medical staff - cleaners, hostessess etc were fantastic

Anything else?

more respct nad dignity for patients and more understanding from staff re problems such as anorexia, depression, anxiety etc - we are not lepers or freaks but that is how I felft because a lot seemed to think I should know better because of my own occupation. It does not matter what job a prson does they are all entilteld to respect and dignity

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Medical Centre

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience in our hospital was not to the standard you expected. You have highlighted areas of concern that do need to be addressed. Please could you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0800 052 1195 so we can provide you with a full response.

We will certainly be passing on your feedback to the teams involved in your care.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful