"Birth of my son"

About: University Hospital Of North Tees

My baby is 8 months now and if I had another, I would not choose north tees again. Having moved to Ingleby from Nottingham, people warned me about the after care. It was pretty dire. The health assistants were brilliant at helping me to breastfeed; an older one however rolled her eyes at having to get a bath for my baby. We left after two days, not once did a midwife offer a bath, he did not get one. One midwife recoiled when some of my baby's meconium had got on the sheet!!! I felt awful and as a first time mother this experience was upsetting. On top of that staff running around failed to notice my baby was so jaundiced we had to come back for him to go under a light box. Sub standard care. The doctors and delivery suite midwives were very good. Post natal ward needs more staff, caring staff! I actually found the night staff much better.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Of North Tees

We are very sorry to hear about your experience and we are sorry if you feel let down because this was certainly not our intention. We do look at all the comments on NHS Choices and, when things are not as they should be, we are concerned. Your comments will be discussed and acted upon. However should you wish to discuss your concerns in more detail with us then please contact our patient experience team who will be happy to help. You can find out more about how to contact the team at http://www.nth.nhs.uk/patients-visitors/complaints/patient-experience-team-pet/

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful