"Cancellation of my outpatient appointment"

About: Scunthorpe General Hospital

I went and had my field tests done and knew that I had a follow up apt for next Friday at 9.20. Today, Friday 26 Sept I receive a letter altering my apt - they say - Unfortunately we are not able to offer you an alternative apt at this time. I find this totally unacceptable. I have borderline glaucoma and it is important that I have eye checks every 6 months. Before I moved into this area I never had trouble at my previous area's eye unit. It is not acceptable not to give me an apt date! Furthermore, when I was up having my field tests done, I was not told by the nurse that I could go home so we waited an hour and a half and it was only when I enquired when I was going in that I discovered that I need not have waited. It would surely be obvious and courtesy to say to patients we will see you at your follow up on whatever date. I was concerned about floaters - another very nice and helpful nurse had a word with the dr and then conveyed a message back to me - not very re-assuring to me - the patient! Additionally, I have been on the phone and held on and on for over 15 mins and not moved up the queue at all - again far from impressed!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Scunthorpe General Hospital

Hello, I'm sorry to hear you didn't receive the service you expected. Thank you for raising these issues, which are now being addressed. If you would like to speak to someone at the hospital about this, please can you contact Libby Jackson on 01472 87411 ext 2468. Kind regards, Sarah Mainprize

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful