"Eye Clinic organisation is unacceptable"

About: Worthing Hospital

I have no problem with the actual treatment I've received from doctors and nurses, but it's a shame it's all been overshadowed by appalling, unacceptable and incompetent organisation in the Eye Clinic. You have to wait for a letter for an appointment time (yes, an actual letter in the post, like a century ago), if you want to speak to someone on the phone they never answer or return your messages and, perhaps worst of all, no one cares. Talk to the member of staff behind the desk, or even the friendlier staff, and it's clear they know about all the problems but no one has any intention of changing anything. They should start again because right now you may have to wait months for an appointment, if you ever get one at all, and I believe it's down to mismanagement, not lack of capacity.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Worthing Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are very sorry for the problems you have experienced with our booking service for ophthalmology. We are working to try to improve the booking system but agree that we have much still to do. We have sent a copy of this posting to the managers for this service who would be very happy to talk to you in detail about your experience. As NHS Choices is a confidential service we do not have your contact details. If you would like to talk in more detail about you care please contact our PALS service on 01903 285032(office hours) or emailing us at PALSWorthing@wsht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful