"The Receptionist at Kings Treatment ..."

About: King's Mill Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

The Receptionist at Kings Treatment Centre. This lady was the most helpful person that I spoke with.

What could be improved

I had an appointment made by my GP on 23rd Feb - Was due to be seen today @ 1140am. I called Clinic 6 today to advise that I would be 10 mins late due to my hourly bus service, my details were taken and the message was to be left.

I arrived at 1145am to the reception, where 2 receptionists were on the telephone, I stood here for 5 minutes and 1 lady ended her call and left the reception desk - leaving me standing. I was assisted by the other lady at approx 1150 am.

I gave my details only to be informed that my appointment had been cancelled by patient on 23.02.09. This was the date the appointment was made - i didnt even know about it. It was investigated further only to be confimed that the GP Surgery had cancelled the appointment. But no cancellation notifaction was sent from anywhere.

They sent me away and told me to call my GP.

I called my GP surgery who advised that the referral was still on the system and that there was no reason that my appointment still wouldnt be in place. The practice manager confirmed they cannot cancel any appointments.

My GP called the clinic directly and asked them to see me if they re-faxed my referral, I was happy to wait. The CLinic receptionists wouldnt accomodate this either.

I had endured a hour long bus journey to get there, taken a days unpaid leave and even had spoken to the clinic that day!! I was very very disappointed.

I now have to be re- referred and wait for a new appointment - when i have waited a month already.

Anything else?

Everyone passed the buck - no one would take the responsibility... I am now still waiting and if it wasnt for the fact I work at City & QMC (and i want complete confidentiality) in Nottingham - I would have gone there.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from King's Mill Hospital

We are sorry that you have experienced difficulties with the referral process.

Please can you contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service who can look into this further. Telephone 01623 672222.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful