"Concerns about Ward A8 with care and communication"

About: Hammersmith Hospital

I found that Ward A8 was lacking in compassion, communication skills and lack of information between patients, nurses, doctors and especially catering staff. There is no communication between staff and patient and if you dare ask or complain you are vilified. Patients have the right to ask about their condition and any other medical information, this was lacking greatly in Ward A8. It is either the nurses cannot be bothered or the patients notes are not up to date or things are not written down for some reason. Also, it is very difficult to get hold of any doctors if you have any serious questions. This lays problems to the patient's rights.in their medial care and stay in hospital. These problems were related to the ward in question, perhaps you need to re-valuate your procedures so that patients can leave the ward knowing that they were well catered for. Having said that the care and attention from ICU was excellent.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Hammersmith Hospital

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is very dissappointed to read your comments about your care on ward A8 at Hammersmith Hospital and we sincerely apologise for the distress you have reported. The ward manager is very concerned by your comments and these will be discussed with the ward team. We hope you will contact our PALS team to provide further details to enable an investigation into the significant concerns you have raised about patient care pals@imperial.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful