"Dexa scan"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

I attended this clinic for a dexa scan yesterday. I booked time off from work and arrived promptly for appointment. When I checked in was told by receptionist she thought the scanner was broken but to take a seat and she would let me know. After 15 min wait was informed the scanner was indeed 'broken' and parts needed ordering and I would get another appointment sent by post. There was another lady there who had brought along her wheelchair bound disabled husband for same scan and told the same thing which had obviously caused her great distress in getting him there. If scanner was broken (as receptionist thought) would it not have been better to telephone patients the day before and cancel the appointment rather than waste their time and money getting there as well as the distress caused .

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear reviewer, I would like to sincerely apologise to you for the inconvenience caused in this matter. Unfortunately, it was only on the morning of your scan that the machine experienced issues, so we called an engineer to take a look whilst we asked you to take a seat. We had hoped we would be able to fix the machine on the same day, but as we realised this would not be an option, we had no option but to cancel the appointments of those already waiting and called other patients affected for later appointments to inform them of the issues. If you have not yet had your appointment rebooked, please contact Rebekah Randle on 0116 2585 449 and she will sort this for you. Once again, we are very sorry and disappointed that patient appointments were disrupted in this unforeseeable instance, Kind regards Service Manager Leicester's Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful