"Supportive, calm birth experience"

About: Hexham General Hospital

We had our daughter in Hexham in July 2013 and I do not hesitate to recommend the unit to every pregnant friend I have. The unit took over my antenatal appointments when Gateshead Midwife service were lacking (read - Gateshead said they couldn't see me at 36 week appointment) and really prepared me for birth. They were absolute stars during my labour. Calm, professional, caring and there when I needed them. I especially liked their non-invasive approach and I was encouraged to walk, move and have my baby how I wanted to (we even took a walk to Hexham Cathedral while I was 4cm). They also have an active birthing suite and pool. The midwives seemed to read me well and know exactly what myself and my husband needed. My daughter wasn't breathing at birth but they were capable of dealing with this and in a calm manner which meant that I remained calm while they sorted her out. Stitches were also well performed and healed quickly. After the birth the staff were very efficient and in no rush for us to leave, they said we could stay for a week if we wanted to. However our labour had been so good there was really no need for us to stay. On the downside food isn't that great and I wouldn't really rate the breastfeeding support that much (but this could just have been the support we had) - but I think this is true of all hospitals in the North East. When you get home just make sure you get support from your health visitor and bosom buddies - the first few weeks are harder than the birth but it gets better every day after that. Would 100% have all my babies at Hexham General.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Hexham General Hospital

Dear Madam, I am absolutely delighted that you have had such a wonderful experience of care in the maternity unit at Hexham Hospital. All the aspects of your care that you have described including, feeling supported, fully informed and cared for in a calm and professional manner are just what the staff want for their mums. I know they will all be over the moon to read your comments and know that this was your experience. I am really sorry that you didn't feel as supported as you should have with breastfeeding - I will pass this information on to the team. I know they will want to improve in this important area. I am glad that you did receive support you needed once home. With best wishes and congratulations once again, Annie

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read