"Appointment System"

About: Leeds Dental Hospital

I have been trying to get my issues sorted since being referred last November and finally today have been told I've been discharged for failing to turn up for my last appointment. Initially many of my appointments were cancelled and re-scheduled but when I did turn up for one that hadn't been I was told there was no appointment as I'd been discharged. Eventually this turned out to be a mistake so one of the Dentists kindly stayed late to see me. Both she and the dental nurse were superb but I needed further treatment. SInce that one I have received another string of cancellations and changed appointment dates and how anyone is supposed to follow them is beyond me. For example my appointment for 6 Aug was moved to 16th Sep which in turn was moved to 30 Sep and finally to 13 Oct. I was very surprised to get a discharge letter today on the grounds that I failed to turn up for my 16 Sep appointment. I called to explain that I had a letter cancelling this and my actual appointment was now 13 Oct. Apparently this has been cancelled as I've been discharged for not turning up and there is nothing the receptionist can do! I really can't see how all of this is acceptable. I left my mobile for someone to ring me back but again, no surprise, nobody called. I have to say this is the worst appointment system I have ever come across. On one occasion receiving three separate letters on the same day for cancelling, rescheduling and cancelling again the same appointment. May I point out that my complaint isn't with the dental staff at all, simply with the administration of appointments (or complete lack of it).

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leeds Dental Hospital

Dear Ken I appreciate that this must be very frustrating and distressing for you and I am sorry that you have had such a poor experience. I will forward your comments to the Dental Hospital and ask them to look into the issues you have raised. However it would be useful to get some more details from you, could you please contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2067168 or email patient.relations@leedsth.nhs.uk Thank you for taking the time post your feedback. Kind regards Rosie Senior Nurse Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful