"The ante-natal ward should be closed down"

About: Wexham Park Hospital

On the 20/09/2014 I was having contractions, 38+2 weeks pregnant. I was taken by ambulance and was in the maternity triage around 23.00. I was then transferred to ante-natal ward 21. I was so disappointed in the care I received in ward 21 by the nurses, doctor's and midwife's. I asked for pain relief around 14.00 on 21/0/14 and never received the paracetamol. I had to wait until I got home. I was 2.5-3cm dilated and I was discharged home. Whilst being in the ward as a inpatient, I observed another patient who was 1..5cm dilated and she was transferred to isis unit. Yet I was more or less 3cm dilated and discharged home even though having contractions and still contracting at 21.40. I had to wait for the dr, midwife and nurses for hour's before being attended to. Midwife was suppose to check how far dilated I was around 13.00 yet she didn't examine me until around 17.00. Finally when the midwife turned up to examine me is understood assuming that she was only going to be observing. Actually examined me with using any lubricant. Hence I went through severe discomfort and pain. I felt as if I was the last patient all day long to be attended and still had to wait hours. I understand I'm a young mother to be, but I certainly didn't deserve to be treated in this manner.. I don't understand why there are really good reviews on this site as I certainly didn't get cared for in the way these reviewer's have stated. I shall be forwarding my complaint to pals for sure as I was under the impression that wexham park hospital had a much better reputation than hllingdon hospital. Obviously not according to the lack of care experienced by ward 21.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wexham Park Hospital

Dear Rajdeep Thank you for taking the time to leave your review after your stay on Ward 21. I am sorry that you did not have a positive experience. I have already passed your comments onto Linda Heppolette, Lead Midwife and I know she has telephoned you to apologise and to discuss your experience in more detail. I understand that you have made further arrangements and can contact Linda directly if you have any other concerns. We take all our feedback very seriously and I want to thank you for highlighting this - it is how we improve and make it better for others. I wish you well with the rest of your pregnancy Kind Regards Claire Marshall Associate Director of Patient Experience and Public Involvement

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful