"Poor experience on ward 10 in Manchester"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary / Ear, Nose and Throat

(as the patient),

I have stayed on ward 10 for nearly 3 weeks there is nothing good to say about this ward.

The nurses will tell you that they are under staffed, but I think that they do not know how to speak to patients. They wrote my medication in another patient's chart - I wonder what would have happened if I hadn't noticed!

There were times when they told me that other patients were more important than me at that time. There were times when the ward was left with no nurses on it. Only a few ever seemed to have time for me.

I felt that staff often didn't listen but told me that I had to listen to them. Some seemed to have no respect for anyone. The shower rooms are dirty. At times, when I rang my buzzer, staff would walk past and leave it till they wanted to deal with it.

Nurses are often also rude to the support workers and it seemed to me that they often have them doing most of their work as well, which meant all they do are the meds, as I have also seen the support workers doing dressings.

I have also witnessed people picking up more infections from this hospital than they had when they came in.

In the rest of the hospital, the toilets I went in were filthy with dirt - used pads coming out of the bins. People were smoking in toilets.

When I tried to complain, I was told that it didn't happen like that. I even tried to talk to them, to be told they are too busy. This hospital is a disgrace. I have more concerns than this and I will be making a bigger complaint.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust

We are very sorry to receive your comments and concerns via the NHS Choices / Patient Opinion website about your experiences on Ward 10. We were especially concerned to read that you felt that the attitude of our staff on the ward was poor and that the ward was dirty. We have noted that you will be making a formal complaint. It is very difficult to respond to the specific concerns you have raised without being able to investigate in detail. We take all issues surrounding patient care very seriously and would very much like to hear from you directly about this. If you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk they will be happy to discuss this with you.

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Recently read