"3 Cancelled Operations......Pathetic!"

About: Queen Elizabeth Hospital (Birmingham)

April 2014 i was told by the Liver Team that i needed Biliary Reconstruction to my Bile Duct! I was then booked in for surgery in June 2014. Being told that I would be in hospital for 1 week then 3 weeks recovery at home. I started making arrangements for my mum to have time off work to look after my 3 small children plus arrangements for my husband to have time off work to be with me at the hospital and to care for me afterwards. I then thought I was ready but a few weeks before hand I had a letter to say it had been cancelled!....little did I know it would only get worse! 4 weeks later I had another date for the op, after more stressful arrangements and more time booked off work we arrived at Admissions ward at 7am, waited hours and hours being tired, nervous, hungry to be told we wouldn't have a bed then yes we have...more hours later at 3pm i was taken to a room to change into a gown and stockings until a doctor then came to say there had been a change of plan and was once again cancelled due to beds! so we we go home, angry and frustrated!.... 18th September same again another date, 3rd time lucky we thought. Same arrangements at home we head off again to Birmingham QE. 7.15am I see a nurse who says I am due to go to theatre around 2pm, hours later and no more communication from an anyone i asked what was going on, informing me the bed situation was fine they rang to speak to someone, they were told they e would get a call back. i was eventually told someone would come and see me, an hour later the doctor turned up to inform me NO BEDS!! Come On 3 cancellations and not even an apology, I am disgusted in the way myself and my family have been treated. This is a tough and emotional time for my family, to have to leave my children aged 5, 7, and 9 for a week, it breaks my heart to listen to them crying for me. So the position I am now left in is to once again wait for another date to be again let down, how many times can this happen....... For a hospital which such a good name, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Liver Services at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience. We are very sorry that you have not had a positive experience and that your surgery has been cancelled a number of times. This is certainly not the type of experience we aim to provide and we understand how distressing this must have been for you and your family. The senior staff responsible for the area where you are due to be treated are very keen to investigate what has gone wrong and take action to improve the service they provide. Without further details they are unable to fully do this so they would be very grateful if you would provide contact details so they can speak to you directly. If you would like them to do this please make contact via our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) team who will be pleased to put you in touch with the relevant staff members. PALS can be contacted by phone 0121 371 3280, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website http://www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form.htm or in person by dropping in between 9am – 4.30pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located to the left of the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful