"Poor communication"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

We were refered by Basildon Hospital and were pleased by how quickly the appointment came through for the Urology Dept. There was a very long wait to be seen, but when we were seen the staff were great. We were given the impression that my daughters stone would be lasered within 2 weeks of our outpatients appt, and she had been sent for her pre-op assessment. Since then (July 17th) we have heard nothing, and nigh on impossible to get in touch with the department, constantly put in touch with a machine where she has left her name and number on numerous occasions to talk to someone and no one has replied to her. She has since moved and we still can't get in touch with anyone to change the address that the letter will go to for her operation, and she is now worried sick she will miss it!! It may be a good hospital, but communication and the ability to contact anyone there is ridiculous. Can someone please tell us who we contact to do this other than drive over from Essex, try and park in your too small carpark for the amount of people that visit and go in and do it physically!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darent Valley Hospital

We are very sorry to learn about the difficulties that you have both experienced. We have received the email that you sent on the 16th September concerning your daughter’s new address and have responded confirming that our records have been amended accordingly. We do apologise for the problems that you have had and hope that this has helped to reassure your daughter that she will be properly notified about the date of her operation. Kind regards The Communication Team Darent Valley Hospital

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful