About: Manor Hospital

I took my 85 year old Father who was diagnosed with dementia over 3 years ago as he was listing to one side and I wanted to make sure he hadn't had a stroke. He was assessed fairly quickly by a very helpful nurse who showed us to a cubicle. 30 mins later the doctor came in. Despite being told that Dad had Dementia he proceeded to ask him his name, address etc. (none of which he is capable of answering) He then did some physical tests for signs of a stroke asking him to lift his arms, legs, clench his fist etc (again, my Dad didn't understand) I said 'Look, my Dad has Dementia, he cannot understand your instructions' Clearly annoyed that Dad couldn't understand, the doctor walked out of the cubicle muttering to himself ' Oh, I'll just do a brain scan'. At no time was this decision discussed with me. Absolutely appalling attitude. We waited over an hour for the scan, staff doing the scan were very understanding and helpful. We were then sent back to the cubicle to await the results. Over two hours later we were still waiting for the results, My Dad getting increasingly agitated and confused. Apart from one nurse who bought my Dad a sandwich and a cup of tea after I'd complained, I didn't feel anyone really cared. She told me they had only 1 doctor in the hospital who could look at the scan hence the wait for the results. We arrived at 1:20 pm and left at around 6pm, over 4 1/2 hours in total, of which over 2 hours of the time we were waiting for the results. After complaining once again, the results miraculously appeared 5 mins later. He hadn't had a stroke, thank god, if he had I fear the amount of time we waited for the results would have only compounded the situation. No mention of why he may be listing to one side or any discussion other than he hadn't had a stroke you can go home. No wonder the waiting time at A & E is so long if patients are taking up treatment cubicles for over two hours just waiting for results. Came away feeling my Dad was a bit of an annoyance to the hospital really which is really sad in my opinion.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Manor Hospital

Thankyou for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry that you feel that you have had a poor experience in our A&E department. We always strive to give a positive experience and good quality patient care and apologise that we didnot meet your expectations on this occassion. If you would like to talk to someone further about this please contact our Patient Relations Team on 01922 656463 who would be happy to help.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful