"An appalling experience"

About: Royal Cornwall Hospital (Treliske)

My 5 y/o daughter fell and broke her arm while on Holiday in Scilly, within half an hour she and I were being airlifted to Truro. At the RCH we were ignored and repeatedly made to wait for hours. She was left without any form of splint and never saw a doctor. We were told it needed a cast by a HCA who admitted he hadn't been trained to out casts on but was going to do it anyway as they were busy. The children's nurse refused to get her pain relief because he was too busy. We were eventually discharged at half ten at night with no accommodation, no transport back to Scilly, and no knowledge of the local area. The emergency staff were all outstanding, the hospital staff were indifferent at best, and downright rude at worst.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Cornwall Hospital (Treliske)

We are sorry you were unhappy with your recent attendance at our emergency department. It has been an incredibly busy few weeks, attendances are up 10% on normal, and whilst we are doing our best to see everyone as quickly as possible some waits are longer than we would like. We cannot comment specifically on clinical care but would be very happy to respond in detail if you would like to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Team - pals.service@rcht.cornwall.nhs.uk Whilst we do understand the difficulty, we are unable to provide accommodation for patients and relatives who do not require hospital care, nor are we able to provide transport back to the Isles of Scilly. Advice and support should be available through your travel insurer.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful