"Poor quality care"

About: Queen Elizabeth Hospital (London)

My experience of using this hospital's maternity and day surgery services was exceptionally poor. Staff were unprofessional - taking patient's history in a public place. They made a difficult set of circumstances worse by their lack of professionalism. I was not treated with any dignity. Changes in my care we're not communicated to me until I asked questions and had to demand answers. I have had a similar procedure and used similar services in two other London hospitals and the care here was appalling by comparison. I was particularly concerned that I was not signposted to any support services after a traumatic procedure. In other hospitals I have always been given literature and information. Cleanliness in the ultrasound area was also very poor. The children's play table was so filthy it should be condemned.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experiences of our maternity, day care surgery and ultrasound services when you visited the Queen Elizabeth Hospital in November 2013. We are very sorry that your experience of our services was less than satisfactory and that you found staff to be unprofessional and that they did not treat you with any dignity. We are also sorry that you were not provided with information about your care until you asked questions. We would like to assure you that our staff are expected to behave professionally at all times, treating patients with respect and dignity and keeping them fully informed about their care and treatment. We would also expect patients to be given appropriate literature and information about support services should this be appropriate. The General Manager for the company providing cleaning services has advised that the play table in the ultrasound department has been through the deep clean unit between your visit in November 2013 and your recent feedback and that the health care cleaning manager has checked the area in question and confirmed that it reaches the standards as set by the NPSA 2007. Once again thank you for feeding back your experience and if you would like to discuss your care in more detail please contact Jacqui Kempen, Matron for Maternity Inpatient Services on 0208836 6350.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful