About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

I suffered my second miscarriage in 7 months in May2014. A private scan done my a consultant in fetal health found that our baby had died around 10 weeks, i should have been 11 weeks. The EPU would not take a direct referral from the consultant as she was in private care so she referred me to my GP who looked at the email and referred me to EPU without seeing me. I had a 4 day wait for a repeat scan. 4 days of upset and grief knowing i was carrying a dead baby. This was the second miscarriage under similar circumstances and i have chronic health problems as well. Parking in general but disabled especially is appalling. We found a space but staff were unable to tell us if we were allowed to park there or not and signs were ambiguous. When i was eventually seen the staff in EPU were very jolly! I had to repeat my story twice. And after the scan i was told that surgery could not happen for another 5 days as the slots were full. I was given some poor information about natural miscarriage and told i had open access to GAU up until my surgery date. I miscarried at home in a lot of pain completely unsupported and unprepared for what would happen. After telephoning GAU i was just told to take paracetamol and keep my surgery appointment, thanks byeeeee... No support, no questions on how i was. I then collapsed out shopping with pain and blood loss and ambulanced to a+e. GAU said i did not require hospital treatment and to go home. 20mins later i passed my placenta in a McDonalds toilet after bleeding a lot! Lack of care and support shocking at such an upsetting time. I have formally complained and i'm waiting to hear from them.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dear Lollo We are truly sorry to learn of your traumatic experience. We can’t imagine how devastating having a miscarriage must be. It’s also very disappointing to read of the lack of support you received. As you have submitted a formal complaint, this will be investigated in full. We sincerely hope that this can be resolved as positively as possible. Car parking at the Royal is very much an issue. We will be building a new multi-storey car park soon and hope this will put an end to the difficulty in finding a space. We wish you and your family well. Sincerely Communications Team Leicester’s Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful