"Not for the elderley"

About: Royal Lancaster Infirmary

I found that I could not get anyone to answer the phone on the ward reception desk, I was totally kept in the dark about my fathers condition , he came home with the same complaint he went in with, his preventative inhaler had not been given to him during his stay , he was then returned home but to the wrong address and when he did arrive home he was on a stretcher his feet was bleeding .I could give you the same advice as this hospital -elderly put them in nursing care has they are just a statistic and their views and the families wishes are meaningless- so keep them in for 30 days and then demand that the family place them in nursing care

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Lancaster Infirmary

We always try to work with families to reach an outcome in the best interests of the patient and will continue to carry out those discussions throughout the course of a patients’ stay with us. However if you still have concerns which you would like investigating please contact our Patient experience team on 01539 716621.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful