"August bank holiday in ward 28"

About: Leicester General Hospital

Generally I don't have any complaints about my actual stay in Hospital,only the reason for me being there.I had been on the waiting list for cholecystectomy for 10 weeks and despite being in daily pain and several trips to my GP was told I still wasn't urgent.I then developed jaundice which was my reason for admission to ward 28. Being bank holiday weekend things happened very slowly-got an ultrasound Saturday morning and despite asking several times no one came to talk to me about results until ward round on Sunday(too long!) I then needed an MRI which couldn't be done until Tuesday.I then had ERCP on Thursday and Lap cholecystectomy on Friday . My frustration is the enormous extra cost that all this extra treatment cost-8 nights in hospital,an additional us scan/ MRI ,additional procedure to clear blockage and I still have to return to have the stent removed.Had the gall bladder been removed sooner I would have had a lot less pain and the cost to the NHS would have been much less. As an NHS worker myself I am well aware of the financial pressures on services-the extra cost in my care doesn't make financial sense at all. On the plus side the care I received was good,the ward was very clean and the food was good.The lady that cleaned over the bank holiday weekend did a brilliant job. I would also like to mention one of the nurses. She made time to speak to patients and make sure they understood what was happening- this sort of care is unfortunately rare now. I feel the staff were very overstretched and understaffed-I witnessed a patient in extreme pain for over an hour waiting for a doctor to come and prescribe pain relief.This really is unacceptable. Thanks to all the staff involved in my care.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester General Hospital

Dear SB, Thank you for posting your honest review, we appreciate all feedback which can help us improve our services. We are pleased to hear that the level of care you received during your stay was high and will ensure the team who cared for you are informed of this. We are however, disappointed to see that you felt let down by the whole system within the NHS in Leicester. We would like the opportunity to review your clinical case to learn lessons from your experience to share with our partners, and therefore ask that you contact matron, Clair Riddell at clair.riddell@uhl-tr.nhs.uk or by calling 0116 258 8328. We have already shared your original comment with Clair, but please make reference to your post on NHS Choices when you contact her also. Kind regards Laura Communications Team (on behalf of) General Manager Clinical Management Group for Surgery Leicester's Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful