About: Russells Hall Hospital

I arrived at RHH just after midnight. My son arrived just 2 hours later. I can't fault the midwives that helped deliver my son, they were excellent and really put me at ease which ensured my son arrived safely. My criticism is for the aftercare or lack of. After my son arrived I was just left on my own to get on with things. It was my first baby and didn't have a clue what to do especially when he started screaming the place down. I gave birth in the early hours of the morning and didn't see another midwife until I was being discharged on the afternoon. I wasn't provided with a cot despite asking for one and being told they would bring me one, this meant I had to hold my son all morning which meant I got no sleep whatsoever when I really could have done with some. Was not impressed with that. Also, in the morning whilst I was waiting around to be discharged a cleaner came into the room and cleaned around us. Why not wait until we had gone or move us to another room?!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for posting your feedback about our Maternity Unit. Please let us first offer our congratulations on the birth of your baby boy. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments at what must be an incredibly busy time for you and your family. It is wonderful to hear that you were well looked after by the midwives who helped to deliver your son and that they helped to put you at ease during your labour. We are very sorry that you feel the care you received after giving birth was not of the same high standard. We are committed to providing our new mums with the best possible care during pregnancy, delivery and after the birth, so it is disappointing to hear that you didn’t receive the support you needed. The first few hours following birth are incredibly important for bonding and so we always encourage skin-to-skin contact between mother and baby for as long as possible after delivery. Delivery rooms do not have cots as standard; however, this should have been explained to you. We apologise that when you requested a cot one was not brought to you and that this meant you weren’t able to get the rest you needed. This has been brought to the attention of the matron for maternity who has reinforced with her teams the importance of making sure requests are dealt with in a timely manner and making sure mothers have all the information they need. Maintaining excellent standards of cleanliness is very important to us, and so to make sure this high standard is met, our domestic staff clean every room in our Maternity Unit every day as part of their routine clean. This is in addition to the vacation clean that is undertaken when a patient is discharged home. Thank you, again, for letting us know about your experience. Your comments have been passed to the matron and lead midwives and will be used to help us improve patient experience for mums-to-be in the future.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful