I needed my wisdom teeth taken out and my dentist referred me to the Woodlands as an NHS patient. They cancelled my operation and pre ops about 4 times sending out 3 new appointment dates in one day. I was so confused I was constantly calling to clarify. I finally went in 2 days ago and the standard of care and genuine friendlyness was poor. On arival at the day case unit I was met with an unfriendly nurse who told my sister, who had brought me, that she couldn't say and had to leave. The nurse said that only private patients could have someone stay with them and they need the car parking spaces (not even a hello). I was outraged. My sister then left and I was taken to my bay and left there for an hour or so before a nurse appeared to take some details. No introduction and just coldness from her. I was told I would last having my operation today as there was a lot of private patients in, reminding me again that I was clearly not their priority. I sat and waited patiently for approx 4 hours and nobody came to even explain my procedure to me. I was then told abruptly to a nurse to put my gown on as I was next, nobody told me a time! ... After my op I was under a general so was coming round im the recovery room. I was fully conscious and heard the nurse call my ward three times for them to come and get me, I was left in there for over an hour. I was then taken back to my bay and was very thirsty. I was given some water. The catering staff then offered all of the bays around me tea, coffee and yoghurt. For some reason my bay was completed missed!?? Hmmm... I then had to use the toilet but my buzzer was nowhere to be seen therefore I couldnt call for assistance. I waited a while to see if someone came by but then couldnt wait anymore so took my blood pressure cuff off and went by myself! The nurse didnt even notice even though my machine was bleeping. 3 hours after my op some nurse came to do my obs and said id be discharged in half an hour, I told her my throat was really hurting and asked for some yoghurt to soothe it.. I couldnt eat it anyway as my lips were so numb! ... On discharge I was given a piece of paper with do's and dont's. I asked a question regarding mouthwash and the nurse replied, its on the sheet. I then said if I could have some Paracetomol, she said no as I had had some in theatre.Nobody told me this so if I hadn't mentioned it I would have overdosed as I was going to take some when I got home.Very dissapointed and felt discriminated. I would never return here again.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Woodland Hospital

Thank you for your recent feedback provided online relating to your recent visit to the Woodland Hospital, and we are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your admission. We would like to understand the problems that you had and make changes going forward to continuously improve our service and would like to take this opportunity to invite you into the Woodland Hospital to meet with our Matron and the Ward Manager to discuss these issues further. If you do not wish to come to Woodland Hospital for a meeting, our Matron is happy to contact you via telephone to discuss these concerns. Could you please contact Sinead Austin, 01536 536 846, to confirm how you would like to take this forward. Kind regards, Becky Wood, Marketing Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful