"had my kidney out"

About: Leicester General Hospital

I suppose you should not be ubgrateful, they did, after all , save my life when treating me for cancer. However the NHS does have some problems. The standard of care could be much better. The hospital was not clean and the food was pretty poor. However, the biggest problem is poor communication at all levels within the trust. Doctors dont talk to nurses, switchboard contantly puts you through to the wrong department- very frustrating

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester General Hospital

Dear Clive Thank you for your comments. We are really pleased you have been successfully treated for cancer and understand this must have been a very difficult time. Over the past year, our food and facilities providers, Interserve, have introduced a number of innovative cleaning methods at Leicester’s Hospitals and they do aim to offer a diverse and fresh selection of meals. However, they welcome feedback and are always looking to do better. We will pass on your comments to them. Similarly our switchboard is managed by Interserve. Normally we receive positive feedback about their performance, but again we’ll pass your feedback on. If you would like to follow this up please email Interserve at llr.csc@interserve.com. If you would like us to investigate your comments about doctors and nurses further, please email us at communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk, with your name, address, date of birth, and if possible a little more information about your concerns. We’ll be very happy to help. We wish you well in your recovery. Sincerely Communications Team Leicester’s Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful