"Very disappoint"

About: University Hospital Lewisham

I was 3 months ago to umergency at this hospital,I am pregnant and I was bleeding a lot for 5 hours,they send me to wait 3 hours at early pregnancy department to waith somone to come....this is not possible to be pregnant in 11 weeks to bleed so many hours and should wait 3 hours to see me someone and after that they send me home without explication ore nothing,very disappoint ....

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Lewisham

I am very sorry that you had a long wait when you attended the Early Pregnancy Unit. Unfortunately, due to the nature of our clinic, i.e. counselling couples who have lost a baby, at times it can be very busy, however, the care we give should be consistent and caring. I'm sorry you were bleeding for a long time. Usually, if a member of staff is aware of this we would prioritise the patient. If ever there are any problems seen on the ultrasound scan the Sonographer would ask the patient to wait to be seen by a nurse. Thank you for feeding back your experiences. Shirley Bogle, Clinical Specialist Nurse In Early Pregnancy

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful