"Seen promptly and examined"

About: Royal Shrewsbury Hospital / Ear, Nose and Throat Telford referral and quality service (TRAQS)

(as the patient),

Not notified Mr Skinner (consultant) not in day of appointment at any time.

Seen promptly and examined – no problem detected, so left hospital disappointed with no explanation for symptoms unfortunately. Back to GP

Find TRAQS unnecessary – phone calls letters + then letter from hospital – all confusing. Family thought phone calls were related to wife’s mammogram.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Helen Handy, TRAQS & CAB Co-Ordinator, Telford and Wrekin CCG

Dear Kite49

Thank you for taking the time to provide the TRAQS team with feedback following your recent referral.I would like to take this opportunity to respond to the points you have raised:

1. The hospital is responsible for notifying patients of any change to the Dr's in clinic - This is not something which TRAQS is informed of. Once we have booked the appointment and confirmed the appointment by letter it is the responsibility of the hospital to advise of any changes. However, TRAQS does advise that the appointment may be with a member of the consultant's team as the consultant cannot possibly see every patient booked into a specific clinic.

2. I am sorry that you felt disappointed that they were unable to find the reason for your symptoms but hope that your GP is able to help you

3. TRAQS is a 'referral hub' which was established over 2 years ago at the request of GPs in the Telford and Wrekin area to manage all referrals from GPs to ensure that all patients are offered a Choice in line with the NHS Patient Charter - many patients are not aware that Choice is every patient's legal right Due to Patient Confidentiality TRAQS are unable to discuss a patient's referral with anyone else unless that person is aware of the reason for the referral. I am sure you can app reciate that TRAQS has to protent a patients confidentiality at all times. We have security checks which have to be completed to ensure that we are speaking to the correct person.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments with the team.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful