"Disappointed by this service"

About: Queen Margaret Hospital / Ophthalmology

(as the patient),

I received a letter in August about an appointment at the eye clinic. The day after I received the letter, I received a call from a receptionist who called saying she had cancelled my appointment as the service was overbooked.

It took a long time to get this appointment, and now I'm left still waiting for a new one. It won’t be until late September at the latest. I'm disappointed by this service.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from John Wilson, Chief Executive, NHS Fife

picture of John Wilson

Dear Dutch213

I am sorry to hear that the appointment you were given for the eye clinic has had to be cancelled. I have asked for an explanation as to why this was necessary to be given to you and to ensure that you are given the earliest possible appointment as an alternative.

We will get back to you as soon as possible.

Best wishes,

John Wilson, Chief Executive, NHS Fife

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Louise Ewing, Patient Relations Manager, NHS Fife

picture of Louise Ewing

Dear Dutch213

Mr Wilson has asked me to pursue the issue concerning your eye appointment; however in order to do so I need some more information from you. Would you be able to contact me directy on 01592 648153 so that we can try and resolve this for you.


Louise Ewing

Patient Relations Manager

NHS Fife

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful