"tameside is a disgrace and unfit to run"

About: Tameside General Hospital

Took my 2 year old son to a n e immediately when he was walking as if he had dislocated something ( his legs have been an issue for the past 3months after contracting scarlet fever however has never really been delt with just passed on ).i was informed by my doctor to go straight to a n e if my son experienced any difficulty walking, and so i did.we were left to wait for a triage nurse for an hour and then take a seat in the waiting room.we were then taken into the same room by another nurse over an hour later who said she had read the notes and there didnt seem more they could do apart from us to take him to an appointment my son had in a few days to which we asked why aren't we seeing a doctor as his condition came on a few hours ago and maybe no relation to how his legs have been.we then proceeded to wait a further few hours to be called yet again the same triage room by a doctor who had no greeting for us only to sit down and proceed that he had read the notes and knew about the appointment in a few days so to basically just attend that.he had no intention of doing an examination and when i questioned how he could say my child is ok without examining him to which the doctor repled "would you like me to examine him?" I obviously said yes.to which the doctor in the same small room asked my son to walk (only able to take a step due to space).the doctor told us he could weight bare so he was fine.i became frustrated by this and everytime i tried explaining the situation i was dismissed after 2 words.my partner then returned from the toliet.stood.stood listening and trying to catch up to be told by the doctor to "sit down or he ( the doctor would have to stand up).my partner looked around at the lack of space and said he was comfortable stood up to which the doctor spoke rudely and insisted he should sit.my son was then dismissed with no treatment and without the doctor actually asking what had happened tonight for us to bring our son down.we were stopped everytime we spoke a few words.i have never felt so belittled by a professional body and so bad as a mother that i can not even find help for my son when he is in most need.i will be taking the matter further.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Helen Howard, Head of Patient Experience, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

I’m sorry you had a negative experience in A&E. This is not the standard of care we expect for our patients. If you would like to get in touch we will be able to look at the concerns you have raised Please contact Helen Howard Head of Patient experience on 0161 922 4652


John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

‘’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful