"Bromley Dermatology Intermediate Service"

About: Bromley Healthcare / Community Dermatology (Bromley)

(as the patient),

I was seen recently but Bromley Dermatology intermediate service and was extremely disappointment with the attitude of the doctor and how rude they were.

I entered the building hoping for help with my problem, that is making me very self aware and embarrassed to be seen in public.

I was not expecting to be told: " you know what you've got so why did you bother coming, the only treatment that will help is laser and the NHS doesn't offer that. Try crying to a private provider and they might give you a deal, or camouflage your face."

I left the service in tears feeling twice as bad as when I went in.

I have now had a day to calm down and would like to know why my time was wasted to attend an appointment that the doctor knew was "a waste of time" before I attended and then took great joy in making me feel so bad I cried in public.

Referrals to this service should be appropriately triaged and I think Continuing professional development (CPD) for patient communication should be attended before this doctor deals with other patients.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Amanda Mayo, Head of Integrated Care - Bromley ICN, Operations Directorate, Bromley Healthcare

picture of Amanda Mayo

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about the experience you receieved from our Dermatology Service. We always aim to offer the best possible care to our patients and we are very sorry if we fell short of this aim during your visit.

Maintaining a good level of communication is key to all interactions between patients and clinicians and I am very sad to see that you did not receive this on your visit and left our service in tears.

I would like to ensure that we fully investigate the issues you have raised with the service and the individual clinician. Therefore, can I ask you to provide us with your telephone number, name, date of birth and date of visit to our secure email address, which is contact@bromleyhealthcare-cic.nhs.uk.

I will ask the Service Manager in the first instance to telephone you and then conduct a full investigation with feedback to you personally on the issues that you raise.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Amanda Mayo, Head of Integrated Care - Bromley ICN, Operations Directorate, Bromley Healthcare We have made a change

picture of Amanda Mayo

Thank you once again for providing this feedback. The issues you raised have now been fully investigated. We have spoken to the doctor conerned, reviewed your medical records and sought advice from the clinical leads in the dermatology department.

While unfortunately the treatments available for your condition are indeed limited, at triage we consider it important to meet with patients to provide information, the opportunity to ask questions, and to put them in touch with appropriate services. The doctor has apologised if they acted in a way that caused you further distress, as this was not their intention.

I hope it reassures you to know that as a result of this feedback we will be prioritising an accreditation process with all of our GPs to review their practice. This feedback will of course be discussed as part of this process.

We wish you the very best with your condition.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful