"Hospital check ups are non existent."

About: Kettering General Hospital

I broke my ankle in a car accident in December, I spent 9 hours in A&E on the same bed being unable to move and offered no food or drink except for when my consultant I saw asked me, and he was absolutly brilliant. I had a cast on for 6 weeks. Had the cast taken of on the 22nd January and I am still waiting for my 2-3 month check up! It's great to know that Kettering hospital's appointment system is on target considering I have been waiting 7 months for this check up! But then what can I expect when I had to wait nearly a month for physio after my cast came off!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience within the Emergency Department. The department have worked hard to ensure that patients do not have a long stay and I am disappointed to hear about the length of time you had to wait on a trolley. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the Consultant. I will ensure that these are passed on. The team acknowledge that there was a delay in offering you any food or drink. The delay was due to the team awaiting a decision on your treatment. Once you had been reviewed by the Consultant, they were able to offer you a drink and something to eat. I am so sorry this was not explained to you at the time. Mandy Blackman Lead Nurse - Urgent Care

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful