"3year wait & still un diagnosed!"

About: Royal Stoke University Hospital

Front line staff are usually excellent, with just a few bad experiences. Middle & upper management are however suffering from "Ostrich syndrome" The appointment system is shocking, long waits for promised outpatient appointments are regular. A&E department cannot cope, regularly missing government waiting times, we have been there for many long hours, sometimes overnight & well into the next day. Mistakes blamed regularly on junior doctors. Complaints result in half answered replies ( eventually) meetings with management encourage us but come to little or nothing. Different departments & consultants are unaware of other visits we've had, taking up their time which could be used by other patients. (They were not aware of Chemotherapy treatment for example) After 3 years we still wait for a diagnosis to get treatment in place to give us some quality of life back for us & other members of the family. In 2014 it is shocking to us to be having to continually complain to try to get the situation sorted out, and we wonder how many other people in Stoke & surrounding area have felt let down by this hospital trust.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospitals of North Midlands

Dear "Anonymous"

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your experience of University Hospital of North Staffordshire.

Please can you contact our PALS Team (Patient Advice and Liaison Service) so that they can investigate the issues that you have raised further. The PALS Team can be contacted on 01782 676450 or 01782 676455 or by emailing patient.advice@uhns.nhs.uk.

Thank you and best wishes, UHNS Communications Team.