"Dads treatment"

About: Chapel Allerton Hospital

My 81 year old father had appointment on 13 / 8 /14 for what turns out to be a cancerous tumour on his head, ( a big hideous looking nasty tumour), he was told it would be treated as an emergency and he would be contacted by phone and letter with regard to an operation. I rang on Tues 19 th spoke to a secretary who informed me shed be ringing him to let him know and would send a letter. Its now Friday 22nd so rang again and spoke to a secretary who I found to "not have the greatest customer care skills." She said shed sent him a letter today for an operation 4 / 9 / 14, I asked if he could be phoned as promised (81 yr old man, on his own, worrying, tumour on his head etc) she informed me quite bluntly he d been sent a letter! I challenged the timing as the operation will be over 3 weeks also I don't think 3 weeks is particularly urgent for something thats growing more horrible by the day, (and perhaps spreading?) and was told again quite bluntly its the first available appointment. His original appointment just for a consultation was for September but I fought this and got it brought forward - luckily. I aren't sure this is all really good enough or urgent enough. But I suppose he is my dad. However the NHS customer care tut tut tut ...... Steve

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Chapel Allerton Hospital

Dear Anonymous Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your recent experience of the Dermatology Department at Chapel Allerton Hospital. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the poor experience you and your father encountered. I will ensure that the Matron is made aware of your comments, however I am also concerned about the timeliness of the appointments which does not sound in keeping with our cancer policy on the information you have given. If you would please contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2067168 or email patient.relations@leedsth.nhs.uk it will help us to investigate this in more detail. Kind regards Scott Senior Nurse Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful