"unable to deal with an emergency situation"

About: Holly House Hospital

had occasion to book the G.P. service at Holly house for my father, whilst in the waiting room my father started bleeding badly internally and blood was coming out from his mouth, I told the receptionist that there was a serious problem and the receptionist was clearly out of their depth and did not know what to do, my father was put into a room and a member of staff came in, who did not introduce them self and gave dad a box of tissues to soak up the blood he was hemorrhaging, this was a very serious situation, the member of staff went away and phoned through to a specialist to come and help dad but we were informed that the specialist had just left and "could not come back" the member of staff then said we should leave Holly house as there was nothing they could do for us, we did this and went to the nearest A&E where dad was admitted and stayed there 3 weeks for corrective procedures. After the fiasco at Holly house we got a letter to say that dad had been booked an appointment at Holly house for the following Monday after the incident to see a specialist, we had no idea this was being booked, we also got a bill for a "consultation" with The G.P. there, we thought we had not seen a G.P. upon investigation it transpires that the member of staff that did not introduce them self and offered dad some tissues was the G.P. and the tissue offering was a "consultation" The experience at Holly House was a bad one, it shows that they are not able to deal with a real emergency, they wanted dad off the premises as soon as possible as they were unable to deal with a man that was hemorrhaging and could not offer any real help to man that was in need of medical help, all in all a terrible response from a so called "hospital"

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Holly House Hospital

We are committed to providing the very best possible patient experience and are disappointed that we have not met your expectations on this occasion. We will look into the concerns you have raised but unfortunately as you have provided anonymous feedback we will be unable to let you know the outcome of our investigation. Please do not hesitate to contact the Hospital Director/Clinic Manager if you wish a response.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful