"Cross road"

About: Southmead Hospital

I attended A&E department on the 18th August 2014.I had been sent there by my GPwith a letter from my Gp . I was told to go straight to A&E. I arrived at 13.25 to be told by reception that they were expecting me however the bed wasn't ready so I should take a seat. After an hour I was taken to an area called" cross road" I was told it was really busy and that I would be seen as soon as possible. Patients were having consultations in the corridor , blood test and iv drugs, there was no patient confidentially at all . The Dr's and Nurse's were all over stretched and could not have worked any harder, they did the best they could ,having to deal with lack of space, and lack of resources. There was a lack of wheel chairs , drug stands and chairs for the patients. There was also no beds available in the hospital , after 7 hours in the "crossroads" I was given a bed. I had a room to myself however it was not very clean . I was not given an identity wrist band and drugs were given to me by me telling nurses my date of birth ! Senior managers of the trust need to look at the complaints of patients and address these issues as they are failing both patients and staff that work there.Confidentiallty for patients is a right and there is no excuse for not providing it in a hospital setting, shameful management for a brand new hospital .

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southmead Hospital

Dear Anonymous – thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide your feedback on your care and treatment at Southmead Hospital. I am not clear when you attended A&E but from your description I assume it was when a part of the facility had to be closed due to a water leak. Regrettably, this impacted on our ability to process patients in what is always an extremely busy part of the hospital and I apologise your experience was so poor. I am pleased to hear that an emergency bed space was found for you, but I was concerned that found it had not been cleaned as would be the normal practice. Unfortunately I do not completely understand the comment you have made about patient confidentiality, but once admitted you should have been provided with a wrist band, although this would not have stopped your personal details being checked before administering any medication, as this is recognised good practice. It is also the case that your treatment should be discussed in private and I apologise if this did not happen. This issue has been flagged to the relevant area. I wish to assure you that the executive team are committed to providing the correct levels of support to ensure that the services delivered quick match the high quality environment additionally formal complaints received are reviewed by and responded to by the Chief Executive Thank you again for your feedback which has been shared with the managers concerned. Kind Regards – Steve Sykes Advice and Complaints Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful