"unhappy about diagnosis"

About: University Hospital Of North Durham

Attended A&E on the 23/06/2014 after I felt a snap in the back of my left knee. Waiting time to see a Doctor was 2/3 hours. Doctor in A&E examined my knee and said I had probably torn my ligament. He put my knee in a brace and made an appointment for me to attend the knee clinic on the 08/07/2014. The care I received in A&E was second to none. When I attended the knee clinic 2 weeks later I was on the understanding that I would be seen by a Doctor but no it wasn't to be, I was seen by someone who called herself a physio practitioner. upon examining my knee she told me I no longer needed the brace as I hadn't torn the ligament but had damaged my hamstring, she then said I needed no follow up and to just use the crutches for 1 month, at no time was I offered an X-Ray or MRI. After struggling with the pain and not getting any better I attended Washington Spire Hospital on 01/08/2014 for a second opinion. The consultant asked what the results were of the X-Rays & MRI scanning and when I told him I hadn't had any done he was very shocked and said that these should have been carried out to diagnose any injury whether it was ligament or hamstring. I had these tests done on the 07/08/2014 at Washington Spire and have received the results today from the consultant. I now need an arthroscope to repair a nasty tear in my cartilage, after nearly 8 weeks I have a firm diagnosis which I could of had 2 weeks after the initial injury if UHND had followed the right path of treatment. I feel very annoyed that I was fobbed of with a false diagnosis by a physiotherapist. I now face another 4/6 weeks recovery.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Of North Durham

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent visit to A&E at the University Hospital of North Durham. I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience on this occasion and that you feel you were not seen appropriately. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you. If you feel this would be useful please contact the Trust’s Patient Experience Team on 0800 7835774. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is patient.experience@cddft.nhs.uk Alternatively, you can write to us at the following address: - Patient Experience Team Darlington Memorial Hospital Hollyhurst Road Darlington County Durham DL3 6HX If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Patient Experience Team County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust Tel: 0800 7835774

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful