"staff and care"

About: University Hospital (Coventry)

I reported the care a few years ago when i had to stay 3 days in observation ward. the way I and the other older women in there were treated was a disgrace. Food was dispicable. I never ate for three days I wasnt told anything and found that i waited 3 days for a lung scan for no reason as it could have been done sooner. I have recently attended for a accident with my knee.Told it wasnt broken although i had an exray this was april. I found out after seeing three different doctors in the trauma/knee clinic and an MRI scan that i did break it.this was a week ago. I went for another xray and the woman in there placed here fingers on the bone that had been broken and i touch her hand told her not too. She reported to the other woman in there i had touched her hand. Its perthetic. Your safety procedures are ridiculus. I have been a security guard for 15 years and know that assault does happen in hospitals but that was ridiculus. parthetic infact. I have not been back to physio and if i need any I will go to see someone privately. I have looked into paying to get all my records and will proceed to. I have a brilliant GP. and you let the NHS down. you hospital has grown too big and obviously the arays arent looked at properly.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital (Coventry)

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at University Hospital, Coventry in August 2014. We were very concerned to hear about your experience in our Emergency Department, and are very sorry that your care fell short of what we would expect. You mention in your comment that you were particularly disappointed with the attitudes of several staff members, including a delay in your broken bone being diagnosed, and also being treated in an unsympathetic and undignified manner. Compassion is one of our Trust values, and staff are expected to demonstrate this by being polite and helpful at all times, and treating all patients with dignity. We are very sorry if this was not the case on this occasion. You mention that you have requested your patient records. If you would like to discuss aspects of your care at University Hospital I would urge you to please contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0800 028 4203 so we can help to try and resolve your concerns. If you would prefer to contact us by e-mail, our address is feedback@uhcw.nhs.uk Alternatively, you can write to us at the following address: - PALS University Hospital Clifford Bridge Road Coventry CV2 2DX If you do decide to contact us, please make us aware that you have left comments on the NHS Choices website. The Trust is grateful for all feedback, positive or negative, as it means we can better understand what is important to our patients. Thank you for leaving your comments on NHS Choices. Communications Team University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust Telephone 0800 028 4203

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful